Ta-da! The End

This blog is the FINAL INSTALLMENT in a series I am writing about my husband’s brain injury.  I have made it to the end…for now at least! Thank you for your interest and constant encouragement as I wrote my story. If you wish to read the whole story in order, go back in my archives and find Begin at the Beginning…all the ones in the category brain injury tell my story. Thanks again for taking the time to read and being patient as I walked through the one of the toughest parts of my life again with new eyes to see how God used the broken pieces to create something beautiful.

IMG_9705I have told my story…at least the parts of it up until this point. It has been difficult, but at the same time quite healing to my heart.   Somehow putting it on paper has brought it from the shadows and into my awareness in a way that has bathed me in God’s grace…to see…to sit in awe at what I survived and how his hand carried me at every step and stage. Amazing is too small a word to use. His faithfulness to me is overwhelming. I am forever indebted to him for rescuing me and for becoming my everything. I did learn quite a few lessons along the way that I wanted to share with you as I close this series.

  • Never ask “what is his condition” when a nurse calls you with news. If she called, your loved one cannot speak. No need to force them to tell you that before you are ready to hear it.
  • You are never alone. NEVER. Even when it feels like you are.
  • Friends and family want to help you. Let them.
  • When crying yourself to sleep at night, let God be your comforter.
  • Sometimes tears are prayers…no words needed.
  • He is close to the brokenhearted. Really.
  • You are stronger than you think…because you are brokenhearted.
  • Funny how that works.
  • Days and days in the hospital run together. Get out and get some fresh air sometimes.
  • Laugh whenever possible…even if your husband is crazy.
  • Because your husband is crazy.
  • Remember the stories of him throwing food at you, pulling out his IV and packing, getting names wrong and saying he won the Super Bowl will be funny someday.
  • Let him count backward from 60 as fast as he can, as many times as he needs to.
  • Get earplugs so you don’t have to hear it.
  • God sends angels in human form just when you think you will die.
  • Let them minister to your heart.
  • It is a blessing.
  • Write a prayer journal about your own journey.
  • Write down everything. Every. Thing.
  • It might make a book someday. 😉
  • Listen to God’s heart for you.
  • He speaks it in many ways.
  • Believe what he says.
  • Hide in the palm of his hand when needed.
  • He can be your husband.
  • Trust him.
  • Do not listen to the words of others that are thrown at you.
  • Do not take it personal when people pull away from you.
  • They do not know how to be in the moment for you.
  • They have not walked that road…yet.
  • They don’t get it.
  • Not their fault.
  • Not yours either.
  • Give grace.
  • Do not allow abusive behavior. No matter what.
  • Seek help.
  • I’m not kidding.
  • Keep yourself and your kids safe.
  • Hold tight to the hand of God.
  • Do not let hope flicker out.
  • Process at your own rate.
  • Even if it takes 28 years.
  • Demonstrate love.
  • Demonstrate grace.
  • To others…and to yourself.
  • Allow your pain to soften your heart not harden it.
  • It can destroy you if you don’t let it do its work.
  • Let it.
  • When you are shattered, know that when the pieces come back together it will be a beautiful thing.
  • You are beautiful.
  • No.
  • Matter.
  • What.
  • Never forget that.
  • The End. 🙂
3 thoughts on “Ta-da! The End

Leave a Reply

