Historic Day

It is a historic day.  Not because of Michael Jackson and Farrah Fawcett dying, but because 16 years ago I gave birth to a bundle of energy.  How can it be that William is already 16?  I remember the little toe-headed boy with the mischievous twinkle in his eyes.  It has always been my theory that God gave that twinkle to active little boys to preserve their lives.  When parents get infuriated with all the activity, one small smile and that twinkle is all it would take to be forgiven. William was active even in the womb, drumming I guess. He has never looked back.  By two, he was a passionate kid that loved anything musical and any kind of moving thing.  He had a special “motor noise” that he made with his mouth that sounded like a motorcycle.  Every thing that moved he pushed and made that noise, lawn mowers, scooters, big wheels, tricycles…you name it. 

He was also a climber, known to stand on the kitchen cabinets…especially when no adult was around to watch him.  It makes me kind of sad to think about not having those William moments of his childhood.  Yet, he still has the twinkle, and now a tender heart and a sense of humor to go with it.  The passion still burns bright and is expressed through his music, among other things.  He is growing into a fine young man. 

He will be hitting the road soon, the first stretch of his wings before taking flight.  I learned that with my first two kids.  It is at 16 they begin their break away, not 18 as I once thought.  I am a bit nostalgic I must admit.  They grow up so fast, yet once again it is time; time to begin the separation, time to cheer on another son.  I will watch the twinkle in his eyes as he drives away, and there will be a tear in mine.  Time does fly!

Leave a Reply

