The Rooster Crows

What a glorious day. The language of God surrounds me.  The birds have returned from wherever they go in the winter and they are singing to the sun as it rises.  Woodpeckers knock all around and their search for bugs echos through the valley.  In the distance, a rooster crows.  Day is breaking. I am here on my porch hoping the feel of the sun will elevate my mood.  My heart is heavy these days.  I know some of the reasons why, but it seems deeper than day to day life…not depression exactly, more like an impeding event ahead. It is similar to the way I felt before the election, an unidentified, strange feeling of uneasiness.  The birds around me today are oblivious and I will join them soon while working in the yard.  This feeling comes and then passes, it calls me to my knees and then releases me to go about my life.  God is drawing me near and whispering in my ear, “Pride comes before a fall.”  I know what that means…humility or humiliation depending on our response. Personal falls over many years have taught me that truth.  I choose humility.  So now…I wait, I watch, I pray, I listen to the language of God and in the distance, a rooster crows.

One thought on “The Rooster Crows

  1. You have Courage.
    Courage, it would seem, is nothing less than the power to overcome danger, misfortune, fear, injustice, while continuing to affirm inwardly that life with all its sorrows is good; that everyting is meaningful even if in a sense beyond our understanding; and that there is always tomorrow. (D.Thompson)

    “Atta Girl”,

Leave a Reply

