Foggy Night

It has been drizzling and misty for days with only a few brief glimpses of the sun.  Then at night, when the sun is down, the fog appears along the mountain roads.  It is thick enough that I cannot use high beams and low beams barely cut through it.  Eerie mist covers everything, creating glowing halos of white that surround street lights as I pass them.   I creep down the road sinking deeper and deeper in the mist the further from town I drive.  It is pea soup.  Trees and fences look like fuzzy sketches.  Street signs are not visible until I am a foot away.  This kind of fog occurs regularly around these curvy corners, but this week it has been worse than usual. Thicker. It is scary to think that it is this difficult to drive on the roads I know so well.  These are my well worn paths of daily life, yet I cannot make out where to turn or how the road bends.  It is as if I am a stranger.  You know how it is when you feel like something is familiar but you can’t quite recall the details?  That is how this feels.  I realize just how much I drive on automatic pilot each day when struggling to find our neighborhood on this damp night. I am concentrating on every little landmark as I move along in the murky haze. A scripture occurs to me inching along my way.  “Now we see dimly as in a mirror; then we will see face to face.  Now I know in part; then I shall know fully, even as I am fully known.” I Cor. 13:12.   

Now I am thinking about how much we really do not know about God.  It is like this thick fog, only we don’t really understand that we are in it.  We are convinced we know how God works and how the world operates because it is familiar to us. Yet, if truth be told honestly, we are aware there is more going on than meets the eye.  Understanding how God functions during times of war is beyond us.  Knowing he is fully aware of all the political ramifications around the world, and even allows them, is too much for our small human brains to comprehend.  I think it is getting foggy in our world…or maybe we are just becoming aware of it.  It is hard to see where we are going as a country, as an economy, as a people. We can make out snippets here and there, but the big picture eludes us like light on a foggy night.  I believe that the fog is going to get thicker before the sun breaks through.  I also believe that God can see clearly, while we cannot.  I may know a few things now but the scripture promises that I shall one day know fully.  The best part of this scripture to me is that last part “even as I am fully known.”  I think every human has the desire to be fully known and loved…to belong.  This scripture promises that one day we will understand, but more importantly we will be known completely for who we are.  On that day, the fog will clear and all will see the Glory of God shining, breaking through the mist.  What a day that will be!

One thought on “Foggy Night

Leave a Reply

