A Perspective changing Song

There is a Chris Tomlin song called Enough that speaks directly to the idea that I am enough.  It was written as a song to the Lord but, when I heard it the other day the Lord said this is a song I am singing to you.  Listening to it in this way blew me away.  By the second verse I was singing back to him…amazing.

Enough

 

All of you is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need

You satisfy me with your love and all I have in you is more than enough.

You’re my supply, my breath of life still more awesome than I know,

You are my reward, worth living for and

All of you is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need

You satisfy me with your love and all I have in you is more than enough.

 

Verse 2 (Me singing back to him)

Your sacrifice the greatest price is still more awesome than I know

You’re the coming king, you are everything

It’s still more awesome than I know.

 

More than all I want

More than all that I need

You are more than enough for me.

More than all I want

More than all I can sing

You are more than enough for me.

All of you is more than enough for all of me, for every thirst and every need.

You satisfy me with your love and all I have in you is more than enough.

 

It is a powerful thing to think of myself as his reward…yet he sacrificed it all…for me.  So doesn’t that make it true?  I am his reward?  And if that is true, doesn’t that make me valuable, so valuable in his eyes?  I mean I would have thought I am not worth that kind of sacrifice.  And many times I think we think of it as he sacrificed for the whole world.  That makes it so much less personal.  We have heard that “if you were the only person on earth he still would have died for you.”  That is true, but we skim over it quickly trying not to really think about what it means.  But I need to stop and think about it.  I am that valuable to him.  When I offer him my love, he is so thrilled because he desires it so.  It humbles me. 

When I de-value myself or when I feel I need to add something to make myself “enough” for him, it diminishes his love.  It basically says he doesn’t know what he is doing and that his sacrifice was worthless.  That brings pain to my heart to knowingly hurt him with my thoughts of myself.  In order to accept the truth…that I am enough…I have to embrace my value.  It isn’t easy because my mind fights it.  It tells me I have to be more loving, more beautiful, more organized…just more.  The world says all of this in our ears quietly and we have bought it.  The church whispers it now as well.  Yet he says, You are enough.  You are my reward.  I live for your love.  Can you say amazing?  That is root of his grace.

One thought on “A Perspective changing Song

Leave a Reply

