Tis the Season

Well the holiday season is in full swing at our house. The Christmas production kept us busy this week.  Hannah and William are now in the high school Christmas show.  We have had concerts, recitals, and still have more to come.  It is the busy hustle and bustle of the season.  In another week things will settle down and we may be able to get some shopping in.  It is crazy like this every year.  Last year, I was unable to attend several of the events that are part of our Christmas.  I am trying not to be stressed but to enjoy the fact that I am healthy this year.  It is a blessing to be cherished. 

The house is coming along.  Today was my first day home to try to get decorated.  We got our tree the day after Thanksgiving and it has been set up in our living room ever since.  We got the lights on last weekend and promptly discovered that our Christmas tree stand has a hole in it.  We were wondering how that tree could possibly be drinking that much!  So now our tree is dying quickly because I refused to get a new stand and take it down in order to set it back up.  It took days to sop up all the water out of the carpet. So our tree will go thirsty the next couple of weeks.  Hopefully on Christmas there will still be a few needles left.
  Today the ornaments went up.  I set the box out last weekend and asked the kids to put a couple of ornaments up each time they came through the living room.  I was hoping by the end of the week they would all be on, but it was not to be.  No one has been home long enough to put any on and so today our tree finally got its Christmas outfit. 

I hope that you and yours are having a great season of living fully.  Priorities are so important this time of year.  I am trying to remember to take time to keep things in proper perspective.  I love the holidays, but the stress is high.  I do not want the stress to steal my joy of being alive and well this year. One tradition I plan to keep is taking time to reflect on the meaning of the season.  I pray that God will allow you to do the same.

One thought on “Tis the Season

Leave a Reply

