Who’s Watching

Who is watching you?  Who is listening to your words to see if they match your actions?  Yesterday I found out that my son is watching me.  Let me tell you how.  We have scheduled a rafting trip with our Sunday School class.  We all take our families and go down together.  Last year Bill took the kids and went without me…I was recovering.  It broke my heart for them to go without me, and at that time I didn’t know if I would ever be able to raft again.  They had a blast…I knew they would.  

Then this summer in Alaska I did it!  I got completely caught up in the thrill of it and when our Sunday School class decided to go again, our family was the first name on the list…that was in June.  As the time got closer, we realized that Peter’s first football game and team pictures were on the same day.  We tried to work it out for someone else to take him to his game so the rest of us could go rafting.  Nothing we tried worked, so I told him that I would stay home to take him.  I really didn’t want to, but it meant so much to him I didn’t want him to miss out.  He immediately said, “No way you are missing the rafting.  You have to live fully!  I will skip my game and come too. There are plenty of other games but you really want this.”  This is the part where I realize what we have been through has affected us all.  This is the part where I realize they are listening and watching.  This is the part where I cry at the sacrafice of an 11 year old for his mothers dreams.  Live Fully…someone is watching!

2 thoughts on “Who’s Watching

  1. “We see facts with our eyes, we see ideas with our minds; we see
    ideals with our souls. Whatever we see with our souls is real and permanent and can not be destroyed.” (Glenn Clark)

Leave a Reply

