Hope and a Future

Today is the day of hope and planning…the day we leave for our trip to Alaska .  When I was at chemo one day, I had an idea.  I needed something to look forward to because cancer imprisons you in the now.  I knew that Jeremiah 29:11 was true.   “I know the plans I have for you.  Plans not to harm you, but to give you hope and a future.”  That is our family verse. 

The second part of that verse…give you hope and a future…stood out to me.  I knew to beat cancer I had to look ahead to the positive to the future.  So, I began to plan this trip for a time that I knew I would be better.  It gave me something to do on my bad days that took my mind off of the yuck. It was my hope.

Cancer also realigned my priorities.  I desire to build memories with my family. That is important to me.  This trip will build memories. Someday when I am gone (I plan that to be when I am 100) the memories will remain. This is my future.

Hope and a future are so much more than a trip…but in this moment it is an accomplishment and a dream realized.

Off we go!  Check in here and I will try to paint a picture for you as we go…

Leave a Reply

